Where to learn how to read music?

WestyShane

Reaction score
Aloha! Does anyone have suggestions for a website or book that would teach a beginner (me) to read music staffs better?

Or, to skip ahead, I have some uke music that shows the chords I need to strum and I can follow that pretty well until I get to the right side of the page and see those thick verticle bars with (or without) dots next to them. I think that means to repeat something but I have no clue where to start repeating FROM.

Thoughts?

Thanks!

For a quick route via a website, I'd check out www.musictheory.net/

If you enjoy reading and studying and don't need the aid of an instructor, I'd check out the books at Berklee Press, starting with Music Theory Book 1 (2nd Ed).

Also take a peak at the Music Theory for Dummies or Complete Idiots Guide to Music Theory for maybe a more simplified view.

Hope that helps!!! I'm studying theory as well. Enjoy your journey! :D

Or, to skip ahead, I have some uke music that shows the chords I need to strum and I can follow that pretty well until I get to the right side of the page and see those thick verticle bars with (or without) dots next to them. I think that means to repeat something but I have no clue where to start repeating FROM.

If there's thick vertical bars and no dots, that usually means you're at the end of the song and you're done.

If there's thick vertical bars with two dots on the left of them, that means you're going to go back and repeat part of the song. Look back in the song for a place with thick vertical bars that have two dots on the right of them -- that is the beginning of the part you will repeat.

Just before the repeat, there may be a section with a horizontal line over it, and a number like 1., 2., etc. The part labeled 1. you only play the first time through, before you repeat. The next time you get to that point, you skip that stuff and play the part marked 2. Occasionally there will be multiple repeats and more numbers.