PDA

View Full Version : FS: Mainland Mahogany Concert, with slotted headstock

Steveperrywriter
04-10-2013, 10:57 AM
Mainland Mahogany Concert, with slotted headstock. This is the no-frills model, solid wood, gloss-finish, bone nut and saddle, Rosewood fretboard and bridge, Aquila strings with a wound Low-G. (The back, front, and sides are each one piece.)

Comes with the tear-drop "hard" case, and it's pretty much mint -- I've had it two months.

Why am I selling it? Because I'm a newbie dolt. I have a not-very good Kohala soprano I got at a charity auction, and decided if I was gonna play uke, I needed to upgrade to a decent entry-level instrument. So I did the research, went to a couple of local shops and strummed a C and G chord, and decided that a Concert-size Mainland was the way to go.

I was wrong.

Mostly I play classical guitars, and those two-inch-wide fretboards give you all kinds of room. I needed a tenor. Which I got. (One of the images is of them side-by-side, so you can see.)

Both of these have what I think are great sounds, although I have switched to Worth Browns on the tenor to make it more mellow, and I'm keeping that one until I can afford to upgrade to a handmade uke. Eventually

There's a link to a sound file: http://youtu.be/5u0kV2isH4k

You'll have to excuse my crappy playing and the crappy recording, but you can get an idea of what it sounds like. Which is, I am told, a lot better than the price indicates.

This 'ukulele runs $240 new, the case $45, and I'll ship this one inside the continental U.S. for $185. Paypal, so you have minimal risk.

Nickie
04-10-2013, 11:10 AM
Steve it's such a neat looking uke...I wish I was outta debt...:(

BillMo
04-10-2013, 12:30 PM
The newspaper makes it feel like a ransom. Nice price though

Steveperrywriter
04-10-2013, 12:40 PM
The newspaper makes it feel like a ransom. Nice price though

Yeah, that time-stamp thingee to show she's still alive.

Send money or we'll start breaking her strings ...