Bought a fiddle. Now what?

Freeda

Reaction score
Anyone got some resources for a fresh noob? Thanks!!!

What type of music you into? Irish? Scots? Bluegrass?

In terms of general fiddle stuff, I found some things on this site very useful.

If you want to learn Irish Tunes then check out The Session - You may need to sign up, but its such a useful resource that it is worth it. It's free, but you can donate if you find it useful.

For Scots music there is no better tutor than the lovely Ms Sarah Naylor. Here is a link to her video course which I loved.

But my number one piece of advice would be get yourself some lessons now before you pick up bad habits. I tried the self-taught route for a year ("Everything else I play, I taught myself, so why not the fiddle?" I thought. Big error). My teacher had to work hard to iron out my bad techniques which were still producing a horrible sound after 12 months. But the next six months I did with him was essential for getting a sound out of the instrument that didn't have the neighbours calling the police ;)

Just remember, that horrible screech eventually goes away. The fiddle truly is the Devil's instrument when you start out. Be prepared for partners and family banning you from practicing when they're around ;)

Use it to kill those pesky flies and spiders around the house.

Thanks darlin!! I was pretty sure I might hear "go get some lessons to start" once I looked online a bit. Next to the uke, fiddle stuff looks like rocket science!!!

I can do this though, right?

Jelly, it may come to that. We'll see!

great instrument, enjoy your journey with it Freeda