Hello from Mandiland!!!

Reaction score
Hi!!! I'm The Mandi Monster. I'm a lifelong artist, a pianist of 21 years, a singer of as many years or more, a model of 8 years and a writer of several years as well. What can I say? I love the arts!

About a year ago, I was in between jobs so I had a lot of time on my hands. I was using the Stumble Upon button to kill a lot of time and a video came up of Jake Shimabukuro playing Queen's "Bohemian Rhapsody" on ukulele. I was blown away! That planted the seed in my brain for ukulele. Over the next year it would grow with various videos, songs and things that I'd read about the uke.

What pushed me over the edge into actually purchasing my ukulele was Amanda Palmer's "Ukulele Anthem". I listened to the words and I was sold. I did some research and found a bright green Malaho uke with glitter on it. I asked around and everyone said that they were good student ukes that were inexpensive. The main thing that everyone said was to change the strings as soon as I got it so I ordered some Aquila strings as well as the ukulele.

After I had it for a week, I got a case, a book, a strap, and a tuner. My love for that green uke has grown every day and night since then. I play every day, if possible, and I've grown to love it even more than piano which I didn't think was possible.

I've named her Angel after a zombie from my favorite books, My Life As A White Trash Zombie and Even White Trash Zombies Get The Blues by Diana Rowland. It's fitting though because she saves me a lot of times. When I'm having a terrible day, all I have to do is play Angel for a little while and all is well again.

Any the way, that's my story of how I became a ukulele beginner and I'm happy to be part of this community and get to know you all. :music:

Welcome to UU, glad you joined us.

Make sure you check out the main UU website. Lots of good free vids there

I hear that. The anthem fits my point of view quite neatly as well! Welcome!