Reasonable Use?

Tsani

Reaction score
What constitutes reasonable use for copyright? I am working on playing a duet and rather than photocopy the music so that the other guy could practice, I bought a 2nd book.

Am I conscientious or stupid? :confused:

Well copying upto one complete chapter from a book, one article from a journal or upto 5% of a publication, is usually considered fair use...

I'm a librarian and I know for a fact that most people photocopy our sheet music if there is only the one book - especially choral stuff. To be honest I normally turn a blind eye.

Having said that, the musician side of me thanks you for being such an honest and thoughtful person and helping people make a living.

My feeling on it; make a copy for you and your partner to use is fair.
Copying it and distributing to a ukulele club is probably not a fair use.

You are acting in your own best interest. By purchasing a second copy, you're doing your part to keep the market strong for music books. That means, long term, you'll have more music books to choose from in the future. We don't want the authors and publishers to give up, do we?

Also: Karma. Someday you might have a book or a CD to sell.