What's up with Kawika's?

gonoles

Reaction score
Folks,

Just curious why Kawika's seem so popular. They are laminate wood instruments and priced higher than some solid wood instrument with great reputations such as Pono. Since I began as a guitarist I don't really understand that concept. Do uke's not open up? Are these instruments just made so well that is doesn't matter if they open up? I've never played one so I have not point of reference.

Thanks!

Are you referring to Luthier David Hurd's instruments aptly named Kawika?

Let's try this again. What's up with Kiwaya's (correct spelling this time)

Folks,

Just curious why Kiwaya uke's seem so popular. They are laminate wood instruments and priced higher than some solid wood instrument with great reputations such as Pono. Since I began as a guitarist I don't really understand that concept. Do uke's not open up? Are these instruments just made so well that is doesn't matter if they open up? I've never played one so I have not point of reference.

Sorry I miss spelled the name earlier.

Thanks!

Maybe you mean Kiwaya? Kiwaya does make high quality laminated ukes that sound terrific.

Sorry. Fixed this on another post. Kiwaya uke's was what I'm curious about. Thanks.

Okay, that's what I thought. I have a Kiwaya laminated soprano. The laminate is very thin and its got a great tone. Yes, I would say its better than some solid wood ukes I've played. I've also owned a solid mahogany Kiwaya soprano that was probably one of the better solid wood sopranos I've ever played. I sold that one because I don't play sopranos very often and it was too nice to keep without playing it much. I kept the laminate because I like to have a soprano around for fun and to take to the beach or work, etc.

There was a concert laminate Kiwaya on sale here in the market place. I almost bought it because I like my soprano that much and could only imagine the concert would be equally good.

Last edited: