Another String Question (Sorry)

audioguy

Reaction score
Hi. I've been reading and enjoying the boards for a while now, and thought I'd seek some advise. I recently bought a Braddah (Mele) Mahogany Tenor on ebay that came with what I think are Hilo strings (black with a wound C). It plays pretty nice but compared to my other ukes it sounds thinner and bit too bright. Any suggestions on strings to warm up its sound? I've been considering Worth or Living Water strings (high G, no wound strings). Thanks in advance.

I have Worth Browns on my Pono Tenor. For me it's a very good sound. Emphasize for me. Sound, tone, whatever are pretty subjective so play around a bit. Best advice I've seen is to play a set for a month or so for them to settle and give you their best before making a final decision about them. Unless you hate them, of course.

Just swapped out the high G for a low G Worth Brown. It's my first try at low G. It's an all non-wound set and the low G has almost a rubber band quality to it. Not sure I like the tuning enough to try wound G & C.

I have Worth Browns on my Pono Tenor. For me it's a very good sound. Emphasize for me. Sound, tone, whatever are pretty subjective so play around a bit. Best advice I've seen is to play a set for a month or so for them to settle and give you their best before making a final decision about them. Unless you hate them, of course.

Thanks for responding. I understand what "sounds good" is subjective, but what I'm wondering is if there is a general consensus on strings that would give me more bass and tame the highs a bit. (Or am I asking too much of a string?) I wish I could try all of the different strings out there, but in the interest of saving a little money and a lot of time, I was hoping to find some info based on the boards experience. Thanks again.