Do you write out and keep chord charts to songs?

UkeKiddinMe

Reaction score
I have come across musicians in life who just keep everything in their head and never really write anything down.

I'm not one of those. :) I need to write stuff down.

I have been collecting chord charts for songs I like since I started playing last month, and I'm up to a nice 35 charts in my book.

It's a good idea with anything new. When I started my career, what ever I needed to remember, I would write notes about it. When recalling is needed, I would visualize what I wrote and didn't need to find my notes. It worked for me.
As far as uke stuff, yeah I have songs with lyrics and chords and refer to them as needed. Find a uke fret stamp so you can mark finger positions or use the number system.
Whatever works for you..............Bo.........

I usaually don't write anything Down when I do a cover of a James hill song or something like that but when I try to arrange a song myself i usually tab it out so I don't forget

I never used to, but then I would think "I want to play this song" and totally forget the chords all together so I started to write em down just a week ago haha

I write out words and chords to songs. I then try to learn them. If I'm going to sing a song 'out', I like to be able to sing without having to look at the words. I don't always succeed, but that's my aim. Some songs I learn quite quickly but others take a long time, often many months.

Find a uke fret stamp...

Holy crap! I have never even heard of these being manufactured, but I am super stoked to know that they exist! (Sorry, noob moment.)

Anyways, I have always kept a notebook/folder of tabs/chords for songs I like. Even if I don't always use the to play, they are useful for passing along to friends.

I used to type them up on the computer - I have probably a couple hundred by now. I've gradually started trying to tweak them a bit for readability on my iPad.

John