Godin Multiuke got here.

jkevinwolfe

Reaction score
http://wolfewithane.com

Just got my tenor Multiuke Wednesday. It's the uke I've really been waiting for ever since I started playing. It's taken a few days to warm up to it, but I'm very happy (despite the big chunk it took out of my VISA card.)

Curious what others think of the concept of a uke that plays like an top-notch electric (feels like a Les Paul shrunk in the dyer) and that sounds like a high-end acoustic when plugged in. It's definitely a uke built for performing and recording like the Nylon Multiac guitar it was modeled after. It's a very different beast than any acoustic or electric uke I've played. Things I'm curious about:

Will it flop because uke players are just too attached to the acoustic format?

Being really unique, will it carve a niche for itself with players looking for a performance or studio uke?

In light of custom tenors and the Hawaiian K ukes selling for over $1000, is $750-850 still too much for a primo small-factory-made uke like this? (In my opinion the quality of design and build is definitely worth the cost.)

Thoughts?

image.jpg

Got a friend who plays a Godin guitar and they are phenomenal. A Godin Uke sounds a sweet idea. Video please?

It appears to sound at least as good as the Ko'olau CE-1 at half the price.

I saw the ones at HMS and they sound great. Godin has a good name.

I considered one, but I decided against the RAC saddle pickup. It's so unique, and online forums discuss issues with one string, for instance, in guitars, and with the entire technology being so different, I'd rather not deal with it if that ever happened. Too few can service it, and company that makes it for Godin is small.

It does not have a traditional, changeable bone saddle with under-saddle pickup for ease of future servicing. The KoOLau CE, for instance does use this setup. It uses LR Baggs special electronics (I have one, it sounds gorgeous).