what key is this songlet in?

ockapus

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I wrote a little song, just by noodling around. It goes (F Dm Dsus4 Em) x 2, (C Cmaj7 Am C) x 2. I'm trying to work out what key it's in. All the chords are in the key of C, but the first F feels like the tonic chord to me. So perhaps it's in F? But in F, E should be Edim, and when I replace the Em by Edim it sounds horrible. What's up with that?

Not that I need to know what key it's in. I was just curious.

Thanks all.

In the key of F with Em and Cmaj7? Doubtful.

The chords are built from notes in the key of C; the progression ends with a C chord; the song's probably in the key of C.

Thanks!
But what do you mean about Cmaj7? Are you saying that the V chord can only be V7 not Vmaj7?
Sorry I am a total noob with respect to songwriting

Ken is the expert, so I agree with C major.
Also songs tend to resolve to the root chord, so the last chord in the progression is the root. (as TheOnlyUkeThatMatters stated)
Another trick that some times works is just play a scale over the chords (in this case the C major scale) and see how it sounds.

Any key you try to call it you're looking at at least one "chromatic" note being borrowed. I'd agree with Ken and call it C - but after playing through it a couple of times I think you're really looking at a key change between the first and second sections. The first section has a very minor feel and I'd almost call it Dm - the second section is pretty much your standard C.

That's my story and I'm sticking to it, but I'm not an expert so feel completely free to ignore me completely!

John

If you look at the chords of C major:

Cmaj Dmin Emin Fmaj G7 Amin Bdim

Then the song really is in the key of C. The Dsus4 doesn't use any extra notes outside the key of C either (just subs a "g" note for the "f" note in Dmin). The first part of the progression doesn't begin or end on Cmaj, but it is still derived from that key.