Left thumb and index finger hurt so badly...

VVVLion

Reaction score
Hi, everybody! I have a question to ask...
I've been playing for about four month or so.
On average, I play about 6-8 hours a day...
just can't put it down :love: :music:
And two days ago, the first joint of my left thumb started hurting, and yesterday the first joint of my index finger followed...
I'm really confused... as on average, I usually play the violin and the piano for 6-8 hours a day since I'm a music major student, and I've never felt any pain like this, not that I remember...
Did I do anything wrong, or...
is it just something that I must go through :confused:
I don't want to stop playing, what should I do...
:iwant:to play!!!

http://www.gotaukulele.com/2013/01/a-light-touch-tip-for-new-ukulele.html

I'm not a doctor, but you probably shouldn't play on it if it's hurting you. Take a little break and if it doesn't get better, go get it checked out.

You're playing too long without resting your hands. You could cause permanent damage and won't be able to play at all. I play for 1-2 hours at a time now. I used to play for 3-4 hours and my hands were paying the price. Spend your off time reading about playing. Good luck.

I'm jealous of you people racking up all that playing time.
I'm good for about 1/2 hour a day. Nothing close to what you are racking up.

And that's why - I'll always be a hack. :)

As the person above said, if you're not taking breaks, you need to. Your hands need it.

I am not a medical professional, but I would definitely back off before you permanently damage something.