PDA

View Full Version : Guitar chords to ukulele?

billcarr
05-11-2013, 07:49 AM
What is the general rule for converting guitar chords to ukulele? So many websites with guitar chords and tabs. I am a bit stuck on how to convert... Total dummie here :-)

Bill

Manalishi
05-11-2013, 07:55 AM
Find yourself one of the many online 'Chord Charts' for Ukulele
that show all the chords you will need.Then,if you know your
guitar chords,the key or the chord name,will be the same.
Like a C chord on a guitar is still a C chord on a ukulele,but
the fingering is different,if you follow me?
I was a guitarist for a long time,and as soon as I learned a
handful of ukulele chords,I could,by playing the same chords
(mentally,if you like) play a whole lot of the old guitar stuff
that I already 'knew'

Shastastan
05-11-2013, 09:19 AM
Timebug makes good points. I use fakebooks a lot and I bought one of those little blank chord stamps since I've a lot more to learn. I only use it for the chords that I don't know though. For example if I know the A7 chord, why bother adding a chord diagram for it. I never learned many guitar chords, but I have a friend who says things like, Oh yeah, the uke chord for G is the same as the guitar chord for D." If that works to help learn chords, go for it. My mind doesn't work that way though. I have to just learn the chords for each instrument separately and not think of them both at the same time. FWIW.

vanflynn
05-11-2013, 09:27 AM
Hi Bill,

Chordie.com may help you. You can change the chord diagrams from guitar to uke in the "tuning" pull down.

Hope it helps

UkeKiddinMe
05-11-2013, 09:37 AM
Not sure what you mean by convert. You're going to have to memorize new shapes for all the chords.
But at least your guitar time will make that exercise shorter.

The only shortcut for guitarists is when moving over to a baritone uke. Then we have guitar tuning, minus the E and A string.

Mattyukaholic
05-12-2013, 01:53 AM