Playing uke in a band

peedee

Reaction score
Hello All

I have a question or two for those of you who play uke in a band, or even just accompany a guitar. I'm talking about a setting like a praise band at church, or busking (I know those are two totally different animals, but I believe my question applies to both)

Do you usually use the same strum pattern as the rhythm guitar? Or do you try to find one that complements the other guy?

Do you usually play the exact same chords or do you look for chords that add some interest?

And if you're not just mimicking the guitar, how do you decide on a strum pattern or chord?

I'm not a musician, I don't read notation or know much theory and have never played in a band of any sort. And I realize that most answers will start with "...it depends" ;) Having said that, help me learn from your experience.

Hello All

I have a question or two for those of you who play uke in a band, or even just accompany a guitar. I'm talking about a setting like a praise band at church, or busking (I know those are two totally different animals, but I believe my question applies to both)

Do you usually use the same strum pattern as the rhythm guitar? Or do you try to find one that complements the other guy?

Do you usually play the exact same chords or do you look for chords that add some interest?

And if you're not just mimicking the guitar, how do you decide on a strum pattern or chord?

I'm not a musician, I don't read notation or know much theory and have never played in a band of any sort. And I realize that most answers will start with "...it depends" ;) Having said that, help me learn from your experience.