Thoughts on jake S documentary

BIGDB

Reaction score
There's been a lot of threads reminding people about his documentary so I'm guessing most people here have watched it. I'm wondering what you thought was most interesting about it I thought it was that he said me touring Is taking away time from my realationship. Wonder if he's gonna stop touring or just do it less?

I thought the most interesting sequence was when he realized that trying to play faster and faster, louder and louder, was a dead end. When my wife and I saw him live here in Carrboro NC a few months back, the best moments were when he took the time to breathe and found great depth. His technique is marvelous—he can rock and speed with anyone—but it's the subtleties of his playing that I think we can look forward more and more to seeing and appreciating.

His playing...simply amazing! I am new to Ukes and I had never seen nor heard him play before...OMG! I was astounded and I couldn't believe that that much music could ever come from a Ukulele! I am in awe. He truly has a special gift.

Thanks for your posting. I was left with the question as to whether he would prioritize his role as new father and tour less. Also, I was interested in his comment about staying within the integrity of the uke, which I thought meant that he thought that all the distortion stuff was too far beyond.

I don't know - that stuff kind of seemed like the process of selective editing. I mean, this is a guy who also said he forgets to eat, no doubt because of his playing, practice and touring schedule. My guess is he keeps playing a lot, but maybe not as much. And I so loved hearing him play with Bruce a couple of years ago at the Ukulele Festival.