Transposing for newbies...

rock_and_roll_camera

Reaction score
Firstly, apologies to anyone who clicked on here thinking it was a guide, it's a request... Check back after a few replies though & hopefully there'll be some useful info here!?

So sorry if this has already been covered a million times, I'm not a newbie to uke but transposing has always baffled & scared me so I've steered clear thus far.

Basically just want to be able to play songs I may have in my guitar books on the uke & vice versa but obviously guitar is tuned to E & uke to C so need to learn how to transpose both ways?

Also, I need to know how to transpose from E to D (banjo uke) & vice versa, and C to D (uke to banjo uke).

Please provide as much info & detail as possible but try to keep it simple & easy to follow... Big ask I know!? Hopefully this thread can not only benefit me, but plenty of other users too!

Cheers guys...

If a song calls for a "c" chord on a guitar, it's still a "c" chord on the ukulele. They are just fingered differently. A "c" chord is a "c" chord no matter what instrument it is played on.

I hope this helps and that I understood your question correctly.

A C is a C yes, provided the instruments are tuned to the same key. As uke, guitar & banjo uke are all tuned differently you have to step up & step down the scales etc... Tones & semi tones & all that if I remember correctly?

To put it simply, a C on a standard tuned uke is not a C on a uke tuned to D. Same fingering position but it now becomes a D...

Me and my uncle did this thing for making guitar chords into ukulele chords I'm pretty sure it's not technically right however it sounded right to me. I told him that the A chord on the ukulele sounded like the E chord on the guitar. So from guitar to ukulele it goes
Guitar: E, F#,G
Ukulele:A, B, C etc.

Hope this helps

Sounds like you've confusing a few different issues here.