The; "Oh No, I scratched my Uke! + What to Use..." Thread

Katz-in-Boots

Reaction score
Kanile'a K1, 2nd hand from here with a couple of scratches already, but last night I really got it wrong & made a deep scratch (and lost a chunk of fingernail).

It's a satin finish wood, not gloss. Satin is quite raw looking, I've been wondering whether there's a wax or polish that might give it just a little sheen & maybe slick the neck a little.

Now I'm wondering if there's a wax or something to fill in those grooves - mainly because catching a nail in one again might lead to further damage.

I'm sure I'm not the only one who has done this....
Anyone???

Sorry not much help from me on your point but, wow, u must really jam

No, but I'm pretty new at this. Something happened, strumming finger got jammed or something then bounced off the string onto the uke.

Pics or it didn't happen.

Well now that's the problem with satin finish, I couldn't get the light right to show it.

I have a hard time envisioning a scratch so deep you would be concerned with snagging a fingernai,. a deep,raw crack with a bit sticking up maybe, but a scratch?

If I can do it once, I figure I can do it again. I'm talented that way :D

Try rubbing a banana skin on the scratch. Seriously.

It is supposed to work for scratches on furniture.

At worst, you'll have a uke that will attract monkeys for a while. :)

Kanile'a K1, 2nd hand from here with a couple of scratches already, but last night I really got it wrong & made a deep scratch (and lost a chunk of fingernail).

It's a satin finish wood, not gloss. Satin is quite raw looking, I've been wondering whether there's a wax or polish that might give it just a little sheen & maybe slick the neck a little.

Now I'm wondering if there's a wax or something to fill in those grooves - mainly because catching a nail in one again might lead to further damage.

I'm sure I'm not the only one who has done this....
Anyone???