I'm not a luthier...

Pete Howlett

Reaction score
I really need this explaining to me because it comes up frequently when questions are asked. Why do people preface ill-informed opinion by stating "I'm not a luthier..." ? How can anyone give informed advice - and this is what this forum exists for: real experience, real advice - when they haven't had the experience. I'm mystified :) It would be like me advising the dentist who has just pulled my tooth this afternoon, how to perform the proceedure wouldn't it?

Maybe people are just trying to help, but are just quantifying their help as 'amateur' help, rather than it being a professional opinion?

Or maybe they're just saying they're 'not a luthier' in case anyone accuses them as passing themselves off as such?

I'm not a car mechanic, but I know a bit about certain cars. I'm not a musician, but I have a knowledge of certain things musical. I'm not a professional sportsman, but I know a fair bit about many sports.

I don't think there's any intention of deliberately misleading anyone ....... :D

I'm not a prognosticator.... but I don't foresee anything coming of this thread that is positive for anyone. Just my unqualified 2 cents.

Last edited:
There is no accreditation to become a luthier vs. a dentist. People go to luthiery school but I'm sure some don't.

Many times the advice given is read and just build so probably some have taken that advice and can build an instrument so using personal experience.

Then there's people like me who read many threads and try to regurgitate someone else but usually in the wrong context. LOL

Just because someone says they are a Luthier , doesnt mean their advice is good either. Just like in life , you have to sift through the crap to find the truth.

I'm not an actor, but I play one on TV

HELLO...THE UKULELE WAS CREATED BY NON-EXPERT LUTHIERS IN THE FIRST PLACE!!!
I'm sure the expert luthiers of the time thought those Hawaiians were foolish.