Need some help and advice on picking a soprano ukulele

Brian W

Reaction score
Hello all. I am currently in the market to purchase a new soprano ukulele. I am a newbie, since I have only been playing for 6 months, but have many years experience playing the guitar and bass. I have played concerts and tenors, but prefer a soprano for that classic Hawaiian, "jangly" tone, and also relaxed string tension for faster strumming and rolls. I have set my budget at $900, and have narrowed my search down to 4 brands, they are a: Kamaka HF1, Koaloha KSM-00, Kiwaya KTS-4,5,or6, and a Kamoa 500-S. If anyone has any opinions or, better yet, experience with any or all of the above mentioned brands, please post your comments to the thread. I am looking more in terms of which has the better build quality, reliability, intonation, and playability. I know sound is rather subjective, but any comments on each for their tone would also be appreciated.

Might be a good idea to take a day trip to Wilmington. The ukulele shop there has Kamaka and Kiwaya ukes in stock, along with many other models to try out. Nothing better than trying out as many ukes as possible to give you the best idea which ukes could work for you.

Ralf,

Yea I am only 2 hours from the North Carolina Ukulele Academy and have already talked to the owner (I believe his name is Ken) over the phone. In fact, my purchase will either be at that store or through HMS. I am also looking for anyone's feedback on the build quality, reliability, and any experience they may have had with any of my choices. The Kamoa, will be a different story, though, since that brand isn't carried by either place. I have heard some sound clips on-line, and it does have a nice tone, but they are made in China, so I am not sure how well the build quality is. I talked to Sam Bonnano through e-mail and he said that every instrument is inspected and set-up prior to shipping.

Thanks,
Brian