Jake Shimabukuro made me better at ukulele...?!

chris3794

Reaction score
Hey all, I entered a contest a while back to meet Jake and i'm now in the 8 finalists! I'd appreciate if you'd take a look :)

Here's the full script that I had typed out, if it interests any of you (I had to cut out and rewrite a bunch of it to meet time restrictions)

I started playing ukulele when I was 4, 5 maybe. I was living in Oxnard, California at the time, and literally all of my family had some musical talent. When I first started playing the ukulele, I didn't take the instrument very seriously. I was playing mostly Filipino pop songs that my parents would teach me. When I was seven, I moved to the city of Allen, Texas and dropped the ukulele. For years, I played guitar and bass as a way to express myself and cope with the bullies at school. Just before my 13th birthday, I came across a video of Jake Shimabukuro playing "Crazy G", and it reminded me of the small ukulele I played back home. I browsed through more videos of Jake playing, and without hesitation I bought a cheap Lanikai ukulele. I had a thought that I would never become as talented as him, but this thought did not stop me from trying. Pretty quickly, I became pretty good at the instrument and the people who watched me play were fascinated (although this makes me chuckle a little because the most impressive song I knew how to play was the tetris theme song). From the first time I played my ukulele in public, I noticed a huge amount of people getting their own cheap ukes; it was almost as if I had started a sort of... ukulele revolution in the small town of Allen. When I heard that CAAM (Center for Asian American Media) was holding a contest to meet Jake in San Francisco, my practice times went from minutes per day to hours per day. I remember not even getting to my homework because my ukulele was distracting me. I was chosen as a finalist in that first contest, but the amazing Dominator had taken the first place prize. T