PDA

View Full Version : Crash course for beginners

Spud1$
06-02-2013, 02:39 AM
I live in a remote area of Florida. I find no other uke players ( I am not really a player yet, but I've been practicing hard for two months ) or uke lessons. On line stuff has been a great help but I would love a person for a bit. Does anyone know of a weekend or some sort of intensive crash course for beginning uke even if it's not Florida, a road trip could be fun! Thanks for any input.:p

ukuLily Mars
06-02-2013, 04:57 AM
I know what you mean. Switzerland is a largely 'ukeless country, and the only time I've played with a group of 'ukulele players was when I went to England last fall! Check out the Seasons of the Ukulele contests. It's not the same as having people in the same room, but if you would like to join in it can give you some challenges to keep you going.

If I could go to this I would but it's not in the cards this year:
http://ashokan.org/ukefest/

There are lots of other workshops and festival, including Tampa Bay Ukefest in November, if you can wait that long! Keep an eye on the Gigs & Shows and the Regional Get-Togethers sub forums. I'm sure you will find something that works for you!

7warriorlion
06-02-2013, 05:00 AM
http://www.floridaukulelenetwork.org/Workshop_Concert.html
http://curtsheller.com/ukulele/clubs/USA/FL.php
http://www.ukuleleyes.com/issues/vol10/no1/interview.htm

Raygf
06-02-2013, 05:13 AM
Take a look at Aldrine's lessons (http://ukuleleunderground.com/video-library/).

AirCanuck
06-02-2013, 05:40 AM
I highly recommend the Ukulele Underground + (UU+) classes. Aldrine is an outstanding teacher and you can pick up some great things from his online classes. I really enjoy his approach to teaching music and get a lot out of it.

KentSantaBarbara
06-02-2013, 06:01 AM
Check out http://tunesinthedunes.com/

I have heard good things about it. Maybe someone here in UU has attended and can give us a first hand review.

KentSantaBarbara
06-02-2013, 06:59 AM