Unique Coconut Ukulele

Lime

Reaction score
As I said over in my intro, I'm a newb looking for a ukulele. I came across this ukulele on eBay and it seems like it's made from good materials to me, and it's also really cute. So what do you think?

Bearing in mind that this uke is mostly for my 5-year-old and while I'm going to make her treat it like a real instrument, I'm not spending so much that I will cringe every time she bumps it. This one's actually over budget, I just think it's so neat.

coconutheart.jpg

Ummmmm..... I'd pass man... there's a reason you don't see too much of them around....:(

I'm with Stan on this one: look elsewhere.

My reasons:
- Stan said so - he's got more experience with more ukes than 10 other senior members put together.
- The uke in question is made by Bruce Wei. While some folks seems to have okay experiences with his instruments, it seems that the majority experience problems, particularly with cracking. I have never owned one of his instruments and can't vouch for this personally.
- The cost of the ukulele is going to be upwards of $100 once you pay the $55 (?!?) shipping.

Based on my experience and that of other members, I suggest you get your daughter a Makala Dolphin. These are touted as some of the best of the very cheap and nigh-on indestructible ukes out there. Plus then can be purchased already setup (this is absolutely key) from many very reputable dealers.

http://cargo.ukerepublic.com/product/makala-dolphin-soprano-mk-s

Stan - do you mean coconut ukuleles or do you mean ones made by this guy?

I searched his name on the board and he seems to make good instruments, but probably not good value for the money.

I was going to just buy the dolphin, but this one's so pretty. I'll just go with the dolphin for me. I'll get one for myself, too, so that can be my next decision.

Thanks!

That's also going to be so neck heavy and so awkward to hold that it'll be almost impossible to learn on.