A Song for the Protesters in Turkey (and all others opposing tyranny)

Barbablanca

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
I wrote a song and did a video for the protesters in Turkey - time to share it here, I think.

It combines original verses (and a middle eight) of mine with the old Woody Guthrie question: "Which Side Are You On?"

The section of the video where you only see smaller images was supposed to have me in a box alongside continuing to sing, while those images flashed up beside me. It all worked fine on the editing screen, but I didn't know enough to ensure it transferred to the final video. I'm still learning to use this new editor. Magix make some great, value for money software, but their explanations leave a lot to be desired, despite video tutorials, etc.

Lyrics in the main description on YouTube

PS You get to see me play my Saz (bought in Istanbul) on this one!

Great, Barba!
Hey, the other day Fernando was singing your song, the one you did for your australian girlfriend and played in our season, remember? haha Just great!

Great, Barba!
Hey, the other day Fernando was singing your song, the one you did for your australian girlfriend and played in our season, remember? haha Just great!

"Oh my love is in Australia...." being sung in Brazil!!!! That's great! As far as I know, that's a first! Saudade triumphant! :)

Oh, that was great, Berni! A song with a message. Let's hope everyone gets it. Fantastic job. I'm looking for some new video software also. I've got another original song that I need to put together a video for but, it requires a lot of time doing the artwork. I always like your songs and videos.

Oh, that was great, Berni! A song with a message. Let's hope everyone gets it.
There is a version with Turkish subtitles being produced right now by a Turkish translator friend of mine.