Osage Orange?

Steveperrywriter

Reaction score
Anybody ever build or think about using Osage orange for an ukulele back and sides? I have a classical guitar made by Al Carruth that has a terrific tone, and he says OA is probably between Braz and Indian Rosewood as to its tonal qualities. It is apparently hard to work with, and it's pumpkin-colored when fresh, but eventually darkens to a nice brown.

It is very hard and tough. I attempted to make a bow from a 6" log - splitting the green log into 4 staves was a lot of work. When it cured the staves were unacceptable due to curvature of the grain, I did not repeat the process. I cross cut the worthless staved into firewood and they were very hard to saw.

I can't really comment on its sound qualities as I am new to this game. However I have made several bows out of it and footed arrrow shafts also.

Warps a lot when drying, can crack a fair bit too. Often lots of hidden pins and knots. Planing it can be difficult. Does look great though, goes a lovely chocolate brown as long as it is still exposed to the air - if it was completely sealed I guess it may hold on to the orange colour longer.

Very dense wood, enormously strong in compression and tension tests.

Sorry - that probably doesn't answer the question.

We've used Osage Orange for several instruments...... don't have finished ukulele photo...... but here is one that was under construction....... make sure that the grain is 1/4'd or at least straight.

Blessings,

Kevin
ZCNLJ396410.jpgZCNLJ396409.jpg

The tree produces a fruit that looks like a human brain. A common name for the tree is "iron wood."

Last edited:
The tree produces a fruit that looks like a human brain. A common name for the tree is "iron wood."

A bit round to double for a human brain...