PDA

View Full Version : Complete Beginner - Ukulele Problems

un dernier verre
06-14-2013, 11:54 AM
Hi, everyone!

I am a complete beginner with the ukulele (not with being a musician, though), so please bear with me. :) My parents got me a pretty low-quality uke from Barnes and Noble (?) for Christmas, and I've only recently started to mess around with it. This is the product:
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/ukulele-josh-oswald/1100060761?ean=9781402771996

Obviously not great reviews, and I wasn't expecting anything great. However, once I finally got it tuned (this was a struggle) I realized that the first fret on the G string plays an A. I think one reviewer mentioned something like this, the others just mentioned that anyone who buys this should replace the metal strings with nylon ones and it should be a little better. Is there anything I can possibly do about the fret issue or is this ukulele just not worth it? The other strings have the same issues, by the way -- C string plays a D on 1st fret, E plays F#, and A plays B.

If there's nothing I can do, does anyone have any recommendations for a solid but cheap ukulele?

ukemunga
06-14-2013, 12:09 PM
It sounds like the nut is too high and fretting the string pulls it sharp. Quite common on inexpensive ukes. Search for "setup" and you'll find that the nut AND the saddle probably need work.

First thing to do is get some new strings. Aquila Nylgut or Martin m600s perhaps.

It will do wonders in general. Metal strings? No way.

sukie
06-14-2013, 12:11 PM
I am no expert, but can't you tune it down a note? Just turn the tuners so the notes are correct. You tuned them a note too high. But here it what I would do.....

Call Mim at Mim's Ukes. She could probably get you set up with an affordable ukulele.

The Barnes and Noble ukuleles aren't very good. Metal strings? Weird (to me)

teruterubouzu
06-14-2013, 12:14 PM