Help!--keep breaking 1st and 4th strings when installing new strings...

chasapple

Reaction score
I'm relatively new to uke (2-3 months) and am having an absolutely horrible time installing strings.

I've been playing 'normal' guitar for 20+ years, so I'm used to the typical looping technique at the peg head [first 'loop' over and subsequent loops 'under'] and I've read multiple sites:

http://ukuguides.com/how-to/how-to-change-ukulele-strings/

and watched multiple videos:

https://sites.google.com/site/islandukeclub/uke-web-resources/how-to-change-uke-strings

I also watched Aldrine's video on changing strings, and he spent most of the time talking about what to do with left over string ends....his advice for tuning at the peg head was just to insert the string and start winding, so it seems that most people don't have much problem with the seemingly simple act of changing strings...

I keep breaking the 1st [A] and 4th strings [G].
It's agonizing!!!

They are breaking at the peg head---occasionally near the first fret or so---not breaking at the nut.

It's impossible for me to get up to pitch.

I get 5 or 6 windings on the peg head (I've tried 'winding down' and 'winding up'--no difference) and that gets me near pitch but then the string will snap when trying to get up to pitch, or stay at pitch.

Many readings I found say to 'definitely' string down [the windings go down on the peg head]. The problem I have with that so far, is that on my uke (Pono MT) the peghead holes are quite low on the peghead itself, which makes it a challenge to wind downward without running out of room and then the windings start overlapping.

I just went through 2 sets of Aquila Reds and now I have my uke in its case with no strings at all--keeping it protected from me!!!

I have had this happen also with flourocarbon strings, not just the Aquila Reds, so there's clearly something I'm doing very, very wrong
but I can't figure out what it is.