The Very Beginning?

fatfingers75

Reaction score
what inspired you to play the uke over other instruments? what age?

Alan (UKISOCIETY on YouTube and these forums) inspired me to pick up the uke just a few months ago (I was, and still am, 18). He told me who to buy from, I bought Tomo, and the rest is history. One day, I hope to have a duet with him on YouTube.

I play a bunch of other instruments, but I have been playing the ukulele since the 1960s. I think I enjoy the uke most, but, my friends and family enjoy my guitar-playing more...

My wife has really fallen in love with the ukulele, though, and she is starting to take interest in playing one. My son and his wife are also getting interested in playing.

I was inspired at the age of 13 or 14, I believe. I started seeing lots of people with ukulele's and it got me interested. My friend introduced me to Aldrine's Super Mario Medley when it was somewhat new and I just loved it. I started learning from my friends' ukulele and they taught me and stuff and eventually I got myself one.

I'm a parrothead and I saw this kick-ass Hawaiian kid, (Jake) play uke with Jimmy's band. So at 46 I went to a beginners uke class to check it out, left the class, bought a uke and never looked back.

Umm Julia Nunes. I love youtube and I was looking through covers and saw her. I have been playing guitar for 2 years so I thought the uke would be pretty easy to learn.Oh and I'm 15!

I got into the uke when trying to cover "You and I" by Ingrid Michaelson on guitar. Halfway through trying to learn it, I realized it was the ukulele that made the song sound so special. That sparked my initial interest. From there I began searching through youtube for covers and came across Julia Nunes [surprise, huh?], and I knew I NEEDED a ukulele.
So after about a couple months of anticipation I found my beautiful new ukulele under the Christmas tree :]
My parents wrapped it in a Guitar Hero III box, I thought it was pretty witty.