Pherotone Ukuleles- Need some Advice!

NewLuthier

Reaction score
Hi there!

My friend and I have been discussing the idea for a good few days, scouring forums, checking out advice, websites, and various books on the subject.

He's a budding musician with a variety of talents, and I'm a casual carpenter/contractor/person-who-likes-working-with-their-hands. We've got about three years left together at college, and a dual passion of ours has been ukuleles, so we thought we'd start and try and make them. All shapes, sizes, kinds (Acoustic, A/E, Hollow-Electric, Solid-Body Electric).

Though of course we're going to start with the very basic hollow-body Soprano acoustic, but we've been a bit stuck on some pointers. And we need some tips and some help.

1. What are some good, but not really expensive beginner tone woods (We're trying to build this from the ground up)?

2. What are some good woods for solid bodies?

3. What are some good, but not expensive, pickups? (He says Piezos, I agree, but what kind? In-bridge, in body, under saddle?)

4. What are some good glues to use? (Wood glues, epoxies?)

5. For Sopranos, how sturdy does the framing and the interior have to be?

6. Size of Fret Wire?

I'd really love some advice to help two dudes get off the ground.

Thanks!

Last edited:
Welcome to this Forum !:)
Just build one for a start out of any old wood or a cheap Kit..to see if you can...and then look at all the mistakes you made and try to rectify them on the next one ..and repeat this process over and over again ;)

For a variation on Timbuck's advise, from a person who is working through his first build, get a set of plans and assembly manual from Hana Lima plus whatever supplies you don't want to make yourself and build a few of them. Plus, keep reading and watching videos.

Three lines as a starter:

Mahogany is easy to work and makes a nice uke

Sopranos are harder to make than bigger ukes