PDA

View Full Version : Best way for a complete beginner to learn the ukulele?

Ipcmlr
06-21-2013, 09:19 AM
Whats the best way for someone with zero experience to learn the ukulele?
Money is not really a concern.

Is getting a ukelele teacher the best way so I learn faster and not get into bad habits?

Or do I just read books, watch videos and strum away?

Thanks!

UkeKiddinMe
06-21-2013, 10:09 AM
If money is no object, then the answer is: both.
Get a teacher, and supplement it with your own work.

JuanNephrota
06-21-2013, 10:41 AM
Probably not the best way, but I've had decent success with the lessons from http://www.ukuleletricks.com/.

PhilUSAFRet
06-21-2013, 10:52 AM
Don't know where you live. My uke club has beginners lessons. Many "uke instructors" are guitar players that "play a little uke." A good basic program is the eMedia Ukulele DVD to get you through the basics. Then you can make enough sense of it to progress more quickly on your own. Many tutorials on YouTube. Just search
Ukulele how to (fill in the blank) Tune a uke, restring a uke, hold a uke, strum a uke, finger chords, etc. etc. Ralph Shaw a delightful teacher.

http://www.emediamusic.com/dvdrsc.html

Ipcmlr
06-21-2013, 11:30 AM
Thanks. Appreciate all you suggestions.
I live in Maryland close to DC.
I'll probably get a uke teacher plus do uncle rod's boot camp as exercises.

Sounds good? no?

Raygf
06-21-2013, 11:41 AM
Thanks. Appreciate all you suggestions.
I live in Maryland close to DC.
I'll probably get a uke teacher plus do uncle rod's boot camp as exercises.

Sounds good? no?
Sounds good. Yes!

Louis0815
06-21-2013, 11:51 AM
whatever you decide to go for, keep a few things in mind:
- have fun practicing/playing. stop when it hurts.
- slow down, esp. in the beginning. Your fingers will need time to get used to it.
- do not only concentrate on practice. put in some theory (notes, chords, naming conventions, ...) every now and then
- have fun

OldePhart
06-21-2013, 01:00 PM