Ukulele Goals

Tigeralum2001

Reaction score
With the year past its 1/2 way point, what do you have left to accomplish this year? I'm not talking about "playing like Jake" or some unattainable goal, but something realistic for you to achieve.

For me it is memorizing more songs. I've been taking fingerstyle lessons for a little over a year and my teacher uses sheet music to teach us. What this has led to is me not memorizing songs... Sometimes I pick up a uke and think "where is my music?" I would like to recall more songs so I can play more songs without sheet music.

Last edited:
I saw a Victoria Vox interview and she said she learned 52 songs in a year. When I started painting I was challenged to paint 100 pics in 90 days and learned a lot. I thought that VV's idea was an interesting goal and might just try it for hte rest of the year........or maybe not.

Memorize more songs. Be able to sing while doing more complex strum patterns. Recently, I noticed I could play a song and sing it well, but when I did a better strum pattern it was tough to sing at the same time. I need more practice. I think my #1 goal is to constantly try to increase my practice time.

I plan to make (at least) one video every week for the Seasons of the Ukulele for the remainder of the year (and for however many more Seasons of the Ukulele there are beyond this year).

Not quite as challenging as Victoria Vox's challenge---if I'm not mistaken, she learned a song by heart every week; I'm free to use lead sheets, sheet music, notes, etc.---but still satisfying to make some music to share with friends every week.

This is a great motivation thread! I've no problem memorising the chords (actually my fingers do that instinctively)--it's the lyrics I keep forgetting. I shall start slow by memorising 1 song every month. I'll make a list now!

Soloing.