Kanilea Konundrum

sashmic

Reaction score
Hello awesome UU forum people! First post here :)

I'm in the market for a new Kanilea; I've been wanting to get my hands on one since I started playing the uke, but I have hit a roadblock.

My first uke is a Pono Acacia Concert, and my second is the Pono Ebony Tenor. Now that I've tried both sizes, I can comfortably say that my small hands are better suited to a concert. It's not that I can't play a tenor, but I find that I have much better control with the concert and I can reach those stretchy chords much better.

The problem is that I really much prefer the sound of the tenor. I love the deeper bass notes and the generally richer and more complex melodies that the tenor produces. From my experience Concerts are punchier and brighter, and as I primarily favor fingerstyle over strumming, the tenor sound would suit me a lot more I think.

I would really appreciate anyone's advice on this. I'm not sure how much more my fingers can learn to stretch, and I'm not sure which I should sacrifice: sound or playability. There is no where I can get my hands on a kanilea to try either model where I live, so I'm relying on second-hand experience, vids and reviews.

Thank you in advance! Aloha!

You may find a Kanilea concert has a fuller sound than many others, including some tenors. Talk to HMS about it. I had one. When I first got it, I played my Pono mahogany concert, laid it down, then played the Kanilea.....not even close. Love my Pono, but, the Kanilea was amazing.

It's been my experience that "stretchy-ness" can be practiced and improved over time. When I'm learning a song that has scary big stretches, I take it slow and find that in a couple of weeks they're not so scary any more.

If you really think you are not going to be able to stretch your fingers on a tenor, then you will have to go with a concert but it's clear you really want the tenor.