Jumpin' Jim's Gone Hollywood songbook-Low G? Help!

Blackwingy

Reaction score
Hey all-

A couple of weeks ago I discovered this video on YT, which I fell in love with:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IN3aETNaThI

...and I wanted to find the music for the song, "Honolulu". Thanks to google I learned it's included in Jumpin' Jim's Gone Hollywood songbook. I also noticed one of the Amazon reviews mentions the tabs are for LOW G tuning...I worried a bit about this, being a rank beginner with only high G ukes on hand, but anyway, it arrived today.

Question is-are the songs-some or all-meant for a low G uke? I can't find any mention of it in the book, but sure enough staggering through various titles, some sound weird or a little "off"-just a little-when I play through them. Although I am a totally rank beginner, I have a good ear and can sing every song in the book(big old movie buff here!), so...what's up, do you think?

I'm sure the experts will know!

(On a personal and off-topic note: I don't know if Jumpin' Jim is a member here, but I was stunned to see that my late husband, Pete, is the third person (after Jim's wife and Jeannie Basinger) that Jim thanks in the introduction. He must have chosen the stills that are diplayed in the book, as that was one of his jobs at Larry Edmunds for many years. He's been gone for 5 years now...it was a bittersweet shock to have his name jump out at me in that context. Talk about a small world!)

I just tried to find the Amazon review that mentions Low G and couldn't find it. Any of these books that I have seen are chords or melody and lyrics with no tablature. Low G or high g will work.

I just tried to find the Amazon review that mentions Low G and couldn't find it. Any of these books that I have seen are chords or melody and lyrics with no tablature. Low G or high g will work.

Here's the Amazon page with the review that mentions it:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/0634062182/ref=mp_s_a_1_2?qid=1372379514&sr=8-2&pi=SL75