Help guide my tenor experience....

Kayak Jim

Reaction score
I've been playing mostly concerts for the past year and a half after a few months as a complete noob on a soprano. I play with a couple of strumming groups and am teaching myself chord melodies and fingerpicking. It's been a blast!

I expect to be travelling to Hawaii in Feb. and while there plan to purchase a yet-to-be determined K-brand. While I enjoy playing the concert scale, it does get a bit tight up around the 10th. And I wonder if for the chord melodies and finger picking low G would offer more depth. There has to be a reason the majority of the big guns play tenors.

So..., I just picked up an entry level tenor downstairs to see how I like the size and sound. While there were what seemed like a multitude of string options for the concerts, it has more than doubled with wound vs unwound, high vs low, balancing tensions...

I'm looking for a fairly simple approach to testing the tenor waters, in both high and low G. The uke is a laminate (Kala KA-TEM) so the stock high G Aquilas should be good I think. My question is how to easily move into low G territory? Adding an unwound low G means filing the nut (irreversibly). If I go wound, should the C be wound also or not? I see Aquila offers sets with one or both wound. A search here revealed a suggestion for using a guitar D as a fourth string (D'addario J4304)

Is there a fairly straight forward approach you can suggest that would give me a reasonable impression of the world of tenors?

Thanks a lot
Jim B

Wow, a big question. Like other ukes, they will vary somewhat with overall length, depth, width, neck thickness/width, thickness of frets, type of tuners, tonewood(s)/tone,finish, and weight. That being said, it would be a lot easier if you spelled out some of your expectations about what you would like, based on your experiences with concerts.