Tough learning certain chords.

ArtOfDavid

Reaction score
I'm trying to learn White Sandy Beach by IZ. Forget the finger pickings, just the strum is enough for this newbie. I spent all day at the beach today trying to get the Bb and Bb7min to sound right. I keep getting something that sounds like I'm holding the strings with the palm of my hand as I did (and still do at times) learning to strum.

I'm now red as a lobster and can only get one in about 20 tries to sound like something musical.

Being a beginner and a perfectionist is tough (you should see what I go through with my art and I've been painting for over 10 years).

Thanks to UU and the videos Aldrine puts out.

Barre chords take quite a while to master. Just keep trying and you'll gain strength and limber up. Just don't let yourself get frustrated. Move on and come back.

Welcome!

Practice, practice, practice! You'll get it. Just be patient and really pay attention to WHY you are having trouble making the chords sound right. Each one is like a 3d block that your mind has to get used to building anew each time.

Arh. I remember when I first had the same trouble playing guitar.
What worked for me was to stop trying so hard. Eventually it all worked out.
I tried to use some time every couple of hours, getting a barre chord down. At first it was a pain, but after some time I got it down.

It wont just come magically to you. It's a bit like riding a bike for the first time. At first it's hard, but once you got it, it's as easy as any other chord.

Be patient - and sooner or later, before you know it, you can do any barre chord without any trouble!

There's Ukelele Mike's Barre Chord Exercises...good for developing your feel for barre chords:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2CO7zryA668

and I found this vid on finger stretches & exercises for classical guitarists also really helpful:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TSrfB7JIzxY