Holding my uke...

cua94

Reaction score
...hi, new here and I have a question about how to hold the uke. I have a concert but have started using a strap because I couldn't figure out how to get my chord hand to move when I held it without the strap.

I was resting the bottom of the neck on the bottom of my left index finger. When I did that I could do the easy chords like C, F, and G7 but not Em or anything requiring movement (like picking). So with the strap I barely hold the neck and can move much better.

Just wondering if other newbies have had similar problems.

CUA94

PS When I look at the pics in Ukulele for Dummies I realize I don't like having my thumb stick out over the top of the neck.

Last edited:
I play a concert, and I always use a strap--it lets me concentrate on fretting instead of holding, and I need all the help I can get! When I started playing, I struggled until I got a Uke Leash (a "half strap" that doesn't require any modifications to the uke). I had a strap button installed on my next uke and I bought (from Lori at UkeLeash.com) an adapter that converted my Uke Leash into a full strap. You can google "how to hold a ukulele" to get plenty of suggestions on holding a ukulele without a strap, but I'm happy with a strap.

Whatever works for you is fine. I am not crazy about straps on the small ukes (concert and soprano) so I glue non-skid rubber shelf liner to the backs of them (yes...I'm not kidding...even my $700 KoAloha has a nice big patch of non-skid rubber glued to the back).

For tenors and baritones I use a strap.

John

I play soprano (and sometimes concert) and have strap buttons on all three of my ukes. Using a strap for the first time was like a revelation for me - my playing improved considerably once holding on to the slippery little thing was no longer an issue!