Don't know what i'm looking for

marko

Reaction score
Hello all.

I'm new to ukulele underground and wondered if somebody could help me? I'm looking to buy a uke and really want to get into playing, but I don't really know where to start when looking looking for one, i.e. what brand, where to buy from etc. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.

Marko

If you were in the US, it would be easy to recommend where to buy. Since you're across the Atlantic, you'll have to deal with shipping, customs, import tax and all that other international stuff. Howevere, there are a number of members who reside in the UK off the top of my head; Ken Middleton, Pete Howlett, upskydowncloud, Sam Wise, Grumpy Old Man, Ukuleleninja. You could probably PM one of 'em and get info on where to purchase.

Last edited:
Personal Advice

I'm happy you found your way to the ukulele :) My personal advice is to simply play different ukulele without thinking of price and size. When I started playing the ukulele I just went to a music shop that had about 30 different ukes in the shop and started playing one after another. After a while I started to realize that tenors fitted my hands best and focused on those. Then I looked at the price and decided not the most expensive (because it was my first uke) nor the cheapest (because I wanted a better quality).

Hope this helps a bit. :D

Hello all.

I'm new to ukulele underground and wondered if somebody could help me? I'm looking to buy a uke and really want to get into playing, but I don't really know where to start when looking looking for one, i.e. what brand, where to buy from etc. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.

Marko

Thanks for the heads up Kanaka.