PDA

View Full Version : fingernail damage

danifuku
07-17-2013, 12:37 AM
Ive been playing a lot lately and my fingernail has been wearing down on one side. Is it because of bad technique. Am I strumming too hard?
Help, I dont wanna lose a nail! :)

The Great Bedini
07-17-2013, 02:37 AM
It's great that you're playing that much. Nothing improves your skills like practice. Now, as to your problem. I'd say you are probably strumming a little heavy on the side of your finger. You might want to experiment with changing your hand position occasionally to use a different part of the nail. Clear nail polish also slows down the wear.

However, I think that fingernail wear is just a part of the game. Use your thumb some, fingerpick some, and file rough edges as needed. I've been playing guitar for 45 years, and had wear on my fingernails from different techniques. Never lost a nail to it, though. Good luck.

PhilUSAFRet
07-17-2013, 02:38 AM
Could be a couple of things. Perhaps you are strumming too hard....or....your nails are too soft (more likely). I have a similar problem and live with it. Some folks get acrylic nails which create their own set of long-term problems. May be some kinder, gentler strings than the one's you are using. I don't know how long you have been playing, but beginners often press on their strings harder than necessary, strum harder than necessary, etc. I'm sure you'll get some more feedback for your post. Good luck

OldePhart
07-17-2013, 02:49 AM
I use nail hardener on the nails on my left hand. Even so, I never have to file my index finger and sometimes it actually wears down enough to be so short that I am basically strumming with flesh instead of nail. To me, that's a good thing, it means I'm getting enough ukulele time in. :)

John

Mandarb
07-17-2013, 03:04 AM