Got a little chip out on my uke...

VVVLion

Reaction score
Hello everyone,
Something sad just happened...
My dearest roomie accidentally hit my alarm clock with my uke:(,
then I got a little chip out on the head of my Kamaka.(not the alarm clock...= =")
The wood cracked a little bit, some wood dust came off from that crack, and the finish came off, too.:wallbash:
Should I send it back to Kamaka to get it repaired? Will they accept it?
I'm too scared to repair it myself (I'm been reading some threads...), I might actually screw it up...
I'm thinking about putting a sticker on it (made with 3M Cutting Sheet)
(since seeing the chip on the head is so painful, and I can see it every time I when I play or tune it...),
but will that do any harm to it?
What should I do?
I would like to know the best option I've got...
Any help would be appreciated.:)
3345.jpg3346.jpg3347.jpg3348.jpg3349.jpg

Last edited:
I have no experience at all, but I would probably cover it with something close to that color and forget it. I do feel your pain, though. I have brown furniture oil I use to cover similar dings in furniture. Good luck!

If you play your uke like it was meant to be...you are going to ding it...

I would not send to Kamaka as if they did take it(which I doubt) since not a major repair...but if you really wanted them to do it...a repair will take at least 6 months or longer....

Email Tekla and ask...good luck!

Battle wound! Just adds character lol. I've already dinged mine up a few times and it still sounds perfect so I have no worries. I mean I don't have a Kamaka, so I'd probably be a little pissed, but there's not much you can do so I wouldn't dread on it.

The first ding is the deepest...

I felt the same way when I got the first ding in my Kamaka concert but a little sparingly applied lemon oil (for instruments), hid the ding quite well.

Now I don't notice it, or even think about it... until I read threads like this!;)