Strumming

cauke84

Reaction score
Ive been playing the ukulele for about a year now, and ive learned quite a lot. i notice most of the videos i watch players, like aldrine strum down with thier pointer finger.. since i started playing ive always used my thumb. It still sounds just as good, i was just wondering if i would run into problems later down the line of more difficult songs. should i switch over and learn with my pointer?:nana:

That shouldn't be a problem, do whatever is most comfortable.

There's no rules just use whatever you're comfortable with. I have a friend that uses his ring finger to strum so it looks like hes doin "the shocker" while he plays. :rock:

It doesn't really matter, as long as it feels comfortable. I've never used my pointer for strumming. I keep all of my fingertips pointed at the strings when I strum. Idk why, but i just can't strum with my hand open

Strum however your hand wants to strum:D

I dont know exactly how to explain how I stum, but I suppose the best way to explain it is this;
I use any one of my fingers (minus thumb) at once (think of using all fingers) to use my strum. When doing a roll, Id intentionally use my pinky.
hard to imagine, I know, but thats pretty much the best way to explain it after being a bit wet.

I Strum Down with My thumb, And up with my finger. I only use my pointer if i want a 'Sharper' sound

Ive been playing the ukulele for about a year now, and ive learned quite a lot. i notice most of the videos i watch players, like aldrine strum down with thier pointer finger.. since i started playing ive always used my thumb. It still sounds just as good, i was just wondering if i would run into problems later down the line of more difficult songs. should i switch over and learn with my pointer?:nana: