Looking for opinions on a Tenor

Muugi

Reaction score
Looking for some thoughts or help on my thoughts for a new ukulele. I have been playing off and on for a few years now. I started on a Kala Concert Mahogany (KA-C) and eventually got a solid body Eleuke for something different.

I am looking to get something that has a bit more full sound and a pickup for amplification. I headed over to several local stores and tried out quite a few that they had. I really gravitated towards the solid wood acoustic tenors. I eventually purchased a Oscar Schmidt solid Mango that I eventually took back because I did not like the look (silly but eh).

I have been thinking about what I liked and what is available and have been eyeing the Kala Marcy Marxer Tenor (KA-ASAC-T-C-SP/MM). I like the slotted head, lighter top with a darker sides and back. I also liked the non-special edition version (KA-STE-C). Lose the slotted head stock and acacia and also lose $200. Is the extra $200 worth it from a sound perspective? Looks are subjective but like to hear others opinions. How about the Kala arch-tops? No specific reason I am only talking about the Kalas they just happen to grab my attention.

What else is out there for around $300-$500 that is a tenor, with pickup and two tone body/top? Really appreciate your thoughts and opinions.

Thanks all.

Looking for some thoughts or help on my thoughts for a new ukulele. I have been playing off and on for a few years now. I started on a Kala Concert Mahogany (KA-C) and eventually got a solid body Eleuke for something different.

I am looking to get something that has a bit more full sound and a pickup for amplification. I headed over to several local stores and tried out quite a few that they had. I really gravitated towards the solid wood acoustic tenors. I eventually purchased a Oscar Schmidt solid Mango that I eventually took back because I did not like the look (silly but eh).