PDA

View Full Version : Lanikai Kohala - The right Ukulele?

Music123
07-21-2013, 01:21 AM
Hi,

im new here and I bought a Ukulele a few days ago. Its the Lanikai Kohala (KU 212, I paid 60 euros). Now I found the Ibanez UKS-10 with bag for 60 euros on amazon and I am not sure if it is a better instrument. Im a beginner and I never played Ukulele before, but I wanted to buy an inexpensive instrument around 60 euros and not a toy.
Was it the right decision to buy the Kohala?

greetings,
Music123 (I hope my english is ok ;) )

Kyle23
07-21-2013, 01:32 AM
I've never play either one, but they are respectable brands. I'm sure you'll be happy with it. See if you can find some sound samples of both on youtube.

Bao
07-21-2013, 05:21 AM
If Lanikai's kohala brand is anything like kala's makala brand, you're in good hands. What you should ask yourself is if you enjoy your current kohala uke. If you do and everything is great (doesn't need a set up etc.) then it's fine :)

Also, welcome to the forums!

P.S. A string change can go a long way aswell.

mm stan
07-21-2013, 05:25 AM
kohala ukes are regaurded as beginner ukes and in hawaii , had a place selling them for 69.00 US

Music123
07-21-2013, 09:10 AM
kohala ukes are regaurded as beginner ukes

yeah I know, but where is the difference between a beginner and a "normal" uke?
And the uke is made in china :D Is that bad ?

OldePhart
07-21-2013, 10:40 AM
yeah I know, but where is the difference between a beginner and a "normal" uke?
And the uke is made in china :D Is that bad ?