Doing the setup yourself

malweth

Reaction score
What is the risk and difficulty of doing an Uke setup yourself? (Assuming one isn't inept with tools, is there significant risk of causing unrecoverable damage?) What tools would I need (I've identified a few).

It doesn't look difficult (on Youtube videos) or expensive (Amazon.com) unless I'm missing something.

From other thread discussions (I figured I shouldn't hijack yet another), my instrument (LU-21C) goes sharp (by about +20 on my Korg CA40) from open to fretted. Would it also be useful to check fret levels?

I lowered the action on my first uke, a Kala KA-S, by sanding down the bottom of the nut and simply removing a shim that was installed under the saddle. I'm a fairly proficient woodworker but probably wouldn't attempt much more than that (like crowning frets), mainly because the proper tools to do so are fairly pricey.

I use a metal straight edge to check the frets before buying. Dressing frets is more complicated that adjusting string height

For the saddle all you need is sandpaper. For the nut you need something for the nut file if you don't want to remove the nut. StewMac has them for $20 a pop or you can use a welding torch cleaner for $5 Torch tip cleaner.jpg . Make sure the groove is sloped enough so the break point is closest to the fretboard

I like to use a feeler gauge to help not go too deep feeler gauge.jpg .
It's all reversible in the fact that you can buy new nut and saddle and replace them. My advice is to try to get it sort of near where you want it to be and play it for a while. You can always go back.

Last edited:
For the nut I use triangular & round needle files I have from my model railway days. Both have tapered ends so, providing you're careful, you won't open the slots too much. It's then a matter of slacken off the sting, file tune up again, check and repeat till you have it right. Do it little by little and be patient.