Soprano versus Tenor

Wingnutz

Reaction score
Hi,
I have only ever owned a soprano. I have played a few tenors but frankly, I couldn't hear a lot of difference in the sound (I thought it would be way louder and bassier). I guess the longer scale is a factor though. I would like to hear from people who preferred one over the other, or can tell me about the relative differences.
Thanks in advance!

Take this input with a grain of salt because I am a total newbie to ukes....
But when I went to try out a bunch of ukes over the course of a few visits a big difference in the sizes was the comfort factor of the size re: holding it and how it feels in your arms and neck size/length and room for finger movement. As I talked with a few other players on a group play night, one said he chose the tenor just because of the size and finger space (he was a big guy) but he felt the sound was similar.
The sound was not AS different as I expected, however, different strings do make a big difference with this too.
I do hear a mellower tone with the tenor, but it's not marked like with a baritone.

If you listen to different sizes on youtube, you can hear the differences more obviously if they use higher quality strings. I listened to a bunch of of these and could definitely hear differences in the higher quality instruments.

That my measly .02 worth but I hope someone with a lot more experience will chime in here.

Sopranos are short sustain, percussive instruments.

Tenors are resonant instruments that allow improved picking and soloing.

They sound completely different, and your ear will detect that difference with a little more time, OP.

Yep, In addition to that, sopranos are usually tuned with high g, and tenors either high for low G. Which adds to the differences. That's how I tune all my sopranos (high g) and tenors (Low G)

They sound completely different, and your ear will detect that difference with a little more time, OP.