Questions re: my vintage Martin 2M please.

coolkayaker1

Reaction score
IMG_2805_zps9cff771b.jpgIMG_2821_zps4708de2b.jpgIMG_2811_zps1e30c4a3.jpgIMG_2819_zps13a037c3.jpg

I got this Martin 2M on the Bay.

Q1: does this look like a 1940s model, as it was listed? It looks glossy (overspray?), and almost too pristine to be true. Newer?

Q2: do these look like original tuners?

It's okay to tell me if you think I got boned.

Thanks.

I am not a Martin expert, but I think I know enough to answer your questions...

A1: My guess would be that it is a 40's - 50's uke, and I do think it has been over-sprayed at some point. It is much glossier than my friend's pristine 2M.

A2: I think they are the original tuners. I have the same tuners on my Style 0, and I date mine to about the the same time.

I don't think you got boned! It is a very pretty ukulele! Do you enjoy it? That's all that matters.

Last edited:
Looks like a 50's model to me. Hard to tell about the finish from the photos. I have seen this type of tuner on some Martins, mostly later models before they quit making them.

Last edited:
I am looking at the high crown of this Martin and tuners and it is in the 50's....it could have been refinished too...authorized luthiers can get them only.
Let me ask you, the stamp inside...does it have made in USA too?

Thanks so much, Ryan, Duane and Stan. I knew you'd have some answers.

Stan, I don;t have it yet, so don't know about the stamp (it's not shown fully in the photos--there is a Martin stamp, just can't see if it says Made In USA.). I'll let you know when it gets here. What do you mean "authorized luthiers can get them only" please?

IMG_2796_zps3b6ef95e.jpgIMG_2797_zps4e88b4de.jpg

Last edited:
Steve:

The tuners are Waverly 2014, used on Style 2 sopranos beginning in 1949. Martin used them for the duration from that time on. Stan is asking about the inside hot stamp because Martin added "Made in USA" underneath the earlier hot stamp around 1960.