C Chord Guilt

soupy1957

Reaction score
I am feeling sorta "guilty" that I'm doing a "one-finger" C Chord. Is there a more well..............fuller version of the C Chord that I could use?

I am feeling sorta "guilty" that I'm doing a "one-finger" C Chord.
Why that?
If you feel guilty with that one, how do you feel playing Am or even C6/Am7?

With regards to finding alternate fingerings you might want to check out http://ukulelehelper.com/ - it has a total of 32 fingerings for the simple C chord (incl. finger-twisters like 5437, 5707 or 5737)

:cool:

There's nothing wrong with just fretting the third fret of the fourth string. I have been playing for two years and that is still the only c chord I use unless I need it up an octave. Making things more complex doesn't mean they'll automatically sound better or fuller.

Use 5433 for a while. It's a hand position with many uses, so it's good to learn anyway.

I am feeling sorta "guilty" that I'm doing a "one-finger" C Chord. Is there a more well..............fuller version of the C Chord that I could use?

Actually, the open C chord is the most "full sounding" C chord because three of the four strings are open - open strings pretty much always ring more freely than fretted ones.

Actually, the open C chord is the most "full sounding" C chord because three of the four strings are open - open strings pretty much always ring more freely than fretted ones.

Here I am talking to myself again...

I didn't mean that one should avoid learning other forms, BTW. I'll often play it 5433 if I'm playing other barre chords around that area or if I need to "scrub" or "scratch" the chord.

John

Once you start to tackle diminished chords that mostly require 4 fingers, you will yearn for the beautiful C chord. That's my favorite sounding chord. Embrace it!