Am I crazy?

durrin

Reaction score
I told my friend today that I almost dropped 500 bucks on a ukulele (a tenor electric Pono) the other day...He looked at me like I was crazy.

Am I?
I thought the price was reasonable for what I was looking at.
Plus, this ukulele sounds absolutely beautiful and I immediately fell in LOVE with its sound...I almost felt unworthy of playing it, since I'm only a novice at this whole ukulele thing.

I don't know. I'm torn.

I need some second opinions and some more convincing.

Thanks.

Or, for $500 you can buy a fraction of the inlay in my avatar.

Actually, you're friend probably thought you're crazy spending $500 when you should spend at least twice that amount to get a good Kamaka or KoAloha Tenor off the rack, then save up for the eventual Ko`olau.

Last edited:
$500 isnt that much on a uke... go crazy and spend $5000 :D

Yeah, you're crazy. You found a uke you really liked and didn't buy it on the spot.

Other than that, your friend just doesn't understand the actual price of things. They don't need to. It's not their money.

Either of my acoustic concerts cost me nearly that much. And they were well freakin' worth it.

Not that I've spent that on a uke yet... I certainly think it's more than reasonable for a decent instrument. You're not going to get much guitar or violin etc. for $500. It's not much for a uke which is probably of better quality comparitively.

If you go with it I hope you thoroughly enjoy and get more than your money's worth of playing out of it. :)

You think that's crazy?!?

I used to play the shakuhachi - Japanese flute. A solid shakuhachi costs $2,000. A true pro instrument can go for $5,000 - $10,000.

Now we're talking crazy.

And let's not even mention violins. From where I sit Ukuleles are true bargains for what you get.