PDA

View Full Version : Some chords sound muted / dead?

graybones
08-06-2013, 06:42 AM
Hi everyone! This is my first post on here.

I am very new to the ukulele and to string instruments in general. I just started playing last week, and I bought a Makala Dolphin to get started with. I put Aquila strings on it as recommended by the Amazon reviews.

When I play the open strings or chords like C, Am, F the ukulele actually has a surprisingly loud, nice sound for a $40 instrument. However, when I play a G or D chord the sound gets really muted and takes on a "buzzing" quality.

Is there something I'm doing wrong? Maybe I messed something up when I re-strung it? Thanks for any advice you can give.

cdkrugjr
08-06-2013, 07:15 AM
"Muted" usually means that you don't have the string down quite far enough. "Buzzing" could be a few things, bug it seems like another symptom of not using quite enough pressure.

The string needs to be pressed down enough so that it vibrates freely from the fret down to the bridge.

Check your finger position. My daughter has to think, "On the fret" for her fingers to work right, though I prefer to think of myself being "behind the fret."

graybones
08-06-2013, 08:00 AM
Thanks for your advice. Maybe the reason I have this trouble with the G and D chords is because they involve the C string which is the biggest and hardest for me to hold down.

Check your finger position. My daughter has to think, "On the fret" for her fingers to work right, though I prefer to think of myself being "behind the fret."

I have been pressing right in between the fret and the one behind it, I will try moving a bit closer to the fret instead and see if that helps.

cua94
08-06-2013, 09:00 AM
I have had less problems with buzzing since I started using a strap. I don't have to worry about slipping.

(just my $ .02)

graybones
08-06-2013, 10:41 AM