Someone explain the Ibanez hate to me, are their ukes bad?

graybones

Reaction score
Hey guys. So today I was in our local music store for an unrelated reason and decided to check out the ukuleles. I tried all the Kalas and Lanikais they had for under $200 and didn't really love any of them. I noticed an Ibanez on the wall because of its interesting shape, I didn't expect anything out of it because it wasn't a brand I had heard of but gave it a try anyway. I immediately loved how it sounded and had so much fun playing with it. So, I bought it for $179.

When I got home I looked Ibanez up on this forum and found a lot of dislike / contempt for the brand. Now I feel bad about my new ukelele :( Do they make bad ukuleles and I just can't tell because I'm a beginner? Or is there another reason people don't like the brand?

Here is what I got:
http://www.ibanez.co.jp/products/u_...2&color=CL01&year=2013&cat_id=3&series_id=143

If you did the Ibanez search of past UU therads, then you know more about the reasons otehrs have given for Ibanez contempt than we do.

I own the exact IBanez concert as you, but maple. I think it sounds lovely--quiet (as are all laminates), but intoned superbly. The resale on them, because of the low initial cost to begin with and the general contempt, is atrocious (but better on eBay that the UU Forum, from those that I have tracked). I'd pick my Ibanez over any Luna, or Lanakai that I have ever seen or played.

If you did the Ibanez search of past UU therads, then you know more about the reasons otehrs have given for Ibanez contempt than we do.

I own the exact IBanez concert as you, but maple. I think it sounds lovely--quiet (as are all laminates), but intoned superbly. The resale on them, because of the low initial cost to begin with and the general contempt, is atrocious (but better on eBay that the UU Forum, from those that I have tracked). I'd pick my Ibanez over any Luna, or Lanakai that I have ever seen or played.