Bad habits ?

Spud1$

Reaction score
I'm wondering if someone would post the bad habits that these posts discuss at times? I've been practicing for five months and mainly learning by the Internet. There is no teacher in the area so it's mostly you tube for me. I keep considering on line lessons but I only have a tablet so I'm not sure if those will work for me. I'm sure I have some bad habits because each you tube tutorial seems a little different even on the same subject. Please tell me what not to do. Thanks

OK here are a few that I have run into. Also this is not meant to be offensive in any way to anybody, playing the uke is really only about having fun, and everybody does that differently! These are in no specific order.

LIST OF BAD UKE HABITS

1) Playing a D major with your thumb (over the top of the fretboard)
2) Strumming only with your thumb
3) Skipping Bb chords in songs
4) Skipping E chords in songs
5) Fingerpicking with your third finger planted on the top
6) Only fingerpicking with thumb, 1st, and 2nd fingers (not using the 3rd)
7) Not learning how to name different chord qualities and what they are
8) Playing the same rhythm for every song
9) Not being able to play the complete song without singing it at the same time
10) Playing slightly out of tune
11) Supporting a lot of the weight of the uke with your left hand while playing (assuming you are right handed)
12) Changing the key of every song to C to make it easier
13) Not playing along with recordings
14) Yanking right hand away from the strings when fingerpicking
15) Not learning the names of chords you play
16) Pressing too hard with the left hand
17) Letting left hand fingers lay too flat and mute strings
18) Not having a good ending to a song (or decently planned intro)
19) Drastically changing left hand position for different chord shapes (especially open vs. barre)
20) Practicing mostly stuff you can do well
21) Strumming with your right hand very "stiff", as opposed to loose and relaxed