Fremont Blacklines taking over my ukes

hammer40

Reaction score
I tried a set of Fremont Blackline strings a couple of months ago, and they now are on 3 of my 4 ukes. I guess you can say I like them just a bit.

I'm by no means an expert, or a good musician by any stretch of the imagination, but man, these strings sound good to me.

I like the over all tone, which I'll attempt to describe as sweet, clear, with maybe a dash of warmth thrown in. I also like the tension of the strings and the smooth feel to them. Cosmetically, I love the black color, looks awesome on all my ukes. I also like the little extra sustain they seem to have added.

What I don't like is the stretch, boy do they stretch. Usually, I leave a bit of slack, maybe a fret and a half, when I start to wind a string. I now leave the string taught when I first start to wind up on the tuners. Even that will usually lead to a full spool, not sure of the correct term for the tuner top. They also take a bit longer to finally settle in and stop stretching, but do stay there once you get there very well.

I have not tried any other fluorocarbon string other than Martin at this point. The Martin strings were actually a great bang for the buck. I would always see them on sale for between $3 and $4, they do sound very good I thought, but the Fremonts are just better to my ear. So this isn't a knock on any other brands, and I will try the other Flouro's out there eventually. Who knows, I might have a new favorite after that.

I just put Fremont Blackline mediums on my Kelii concert. It came with Worth Browns and I've put several strings on it since I got it in February. I think they have less "punch" and more "ping" than Martins (I love the Martins on my soprano), and they're staying on for the forseeable future. :D