Beginner questions I guess...

Jzhengimin

Reaction score
Hi I just started playing ukulele like a week ago and I've been using my roomate's. I now want to buy my own and I was wondering, what's the difference between all the types of ukulele ie soprano, concert, etc? Is there a difference in the strings (not gcea)? Also, what would be some brands to look at in the $40-60 price range? And a side question, what's the right way to strum? I used a pick at first but not anymore and I'm finding it hard to strum down and up with just fingers.

Greetings and salutations. Here's a link to ukulele hunt's article on buying a uke. The rest of the site is helpful too.

http://ukulelehunt.com/buyaukulele/

Kala 15s soprano is a nice uke for $50.

I strum and pluck with my fingers mostly, but I also use my teeth from time to time.

There's no difference in the tuning, but there can be if you want to. The difference is in size and sound. It goes soprano, concert (alto), tenor, baritone.... and perhaps sopranino and bass.

Hi I just started playing ukulele like a week ago and I've been using my roomate's. I now want to buy my own and I was wondering, what's the difference between all the types of ukulele ie soprano, concert, etc? Is there a difference in the strings (not gcea)? Also, what would be some brands to look at in the $40-60 price range? And a side question, what's the right way to strum? I used a pick at first but not anymore and I'm finding it hard to strum down and up with just fingers.

hey one of the accepted ways of strumming the uke is like this:

extend your arm as if you're going to open a door

drop your index finger 90 degrees so it points to floor (the rest of your fingers should still be horizontal).

Move your wrist as if you were turning a door handle and that should do it.

Strumming a uke really shouldn't involve big strokes like a guitar, it's all in the wrist...